Events Archive - 2012

Friday, September 28, 2012

Saturday, September 29, 2012

Martin Luther Kyrka
Martin Luther Church, Halmstad
Halmstad, Sweden
work being performed: for love is strong
Ensembles:  Ars Nova 
Conductors:  Michael Bojesen 

Tuesday, October 2, 2012

Thursday, October 4, 2012

Wake Forest University
Wait Chapel
1834 Wake Forest Road, Winston-Salem, North Carolina   map
work being performed: love fail
Ensembles:  Anonymous 4 

Friday, October 5, 2012

Duke University Performances
First Presbyterian Church of Durham
305 E. Main St., Durham, North Carolina   map
work being performed: love fail
Ensembles:  Anonymous 4 

Wednesday, October 10, 2012 - Sunday, October 14, 2012

Wednesday, October 10, 2012

Thursday, October 11, 2012

University of Iowa
St. Mary's Catholic Church
228 E Jefferson St, Iowa City, Iowa   map
work being performed: love fail
Ensembles:  Anonymous 4 
Carolina Performing Arts
Memorial Hall
114 East Cameron Ave, Chapel Hill, North Carolina   map
work being performed: Industry
Soloists:  Maya Beiser 
Collaborators:  Beth Morrison Projects 

Friday, October 12, 2012

* World premiere
Southbank Centre Ether Festival
Queen Elizabeth Hall
Belvedere Road, London, United Kingdom   map
works being performed: riSE and fLY, Cruel Sister, Lad
Ensembles:  BBC Concert Orchestra 
Soloists:  Colin Currie   percussion 
Conductors:  Keith Lockhart 

Saturday, October 13, 2012

Interlochen Arts Academy
Corson Auditorium
4000 M-137, Interlochen, Michigan   map

504433164_350195309-121013.pdf

Ensembles:  Ethel 

Sunday, October 14, 2012

* United Kingdom premiere
Southbank Centre
Queen Elizabeth Hall
London, United Kingdom
work being performed: Decasia
Ensembles:  Aurora Orchestra 
Conductors:  Nicholas Collon 

Monday, October 15, 2012

Wednesday, October 17, 2012

KANAWHA UNITED PRESBYTERIAN CHURCH
1009 Virginia Street, Charleston, West Virginia   map
work being performed: lend/lease

Wednesday, October 17, 2012 - Saturday, October 20, 2012

Brooklyn Academy of Music
Fischer Center
30 Lafayette Avenue, Brooklyn, New York   map
work being performed: Industry
Soloists:  Maya Beiser 
Collaborators:  Beth Morrison Projects 

Thursday, October 18, 2012 - Sunday, October 21, 2012

Thursday, October 18, 2012

Englert Theatre
Englert Theatre
221 East Washington Street, Iowa City, Iowa   map
work being performed: Clouded Yellow
Ensembles:  Kronos Quartet 

Friday, October 19, 2012

Saturday, October 20, 2012

Presbyterian Church of Chestnut Hill
8855 Germantown Avenue, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania   map
work being performed: statement to the court
Ensembles:  The Crossing 
Conductors:  Donald Nally 

Sunday, October 21, 2012

Bergamo Scienza Festival
Teatro Sociale, Via Colleoni 4
Bergamo, Italy
work being performed: Clouded Yellow
Ensembles:  Kronos Quartet 

Tuesday, October 23, 2012

Penn State University
Center for Performing Arts
State College, Pennsylvania
Ensembles:  Anonymous 4 

Friday, October 26, 2012

Sunday, October 28, 2012

Bard College
Bard College
Annandale-on-Hudson, New York
work being performed: pierced
Ensembles:  Bard Conservatory 

Monday, October 29, 2012

Tuesday, October 30, 2012

* World premiere
Amsterdamse Cello Biënnale
Amsterdam, Netherlands

Tuesday, October 30, 2012 - Saturday, November 3, 2012

Wednesday, October 31, 2012

Friday, November 2, 2012

Commercial Road Chamber Music
Newstead, Australia
work being performed: sweet air
Ensembles:  Syzygy Ensemble 

Saturday, November 3, 2012

Saturday, November 3, 2012 - Monday, November 12, 2012

Sunday, November 4, 2012

Monday, November 5, 2012

Hochstein School of Music
Hilda D. Taylor Recital Hall
Rochester, New York
work being performed: cheating, lying, stealing
Ensembles:  ensemble twenty 21 

Tuesday, November 6, 2012

Leeds International Concert Series
The Venue, Quarry Hill
Leeds, United Kingdom
work being performed: breathless
Ensembles:  Galliard Ensemble 

Wednesday, November 7, 2012 - Sunday, November 11, 2012

Thursday, November 8, 2012

Ohio State Univ
Weigel Hall Auditorium
Columbus, Ohio
work being performed: table of contents
Ensembles:  Pendulum Duo 
* Netherlands premiere
November Music Festival
Hertogenbosch, Netherlands
work being performed: Rushes
Ensembles:  Rushes Ensemble 

Friday, November 9, 2012

Spectrum
121 Ludlow Street, New York, New York   map
work being performed: sweet air
Ensembles:  Nouveau Classical 

Friday, November 9, 2012 - Sunday, November 11, 2012

Sunday, November 11, 2012

Teatro Grande
Brescia, Italy
work being performed: acdc
Ensembles:  Sentieri Selvaggi 

Monday, November 12, 2012

Science Museum of London
Exhibition Road, London, United Kingdom   map
work being performed: Trance
Ensembles:  Icebreaker 

Monday, November 12, 2012 - Tuesday, November 13, 2012

Grand Valley State University
Allendale, Michigan

Grand Valley State University presents two intensive days of music by David Lang.  All events take place at Grand Valley State University, Allendale, MI, and are free and open to the public.

 

Monday November 12

3-4pm (PAC 1313)
saxophone masterclass

David coaches students performing his Revolutionary Etudes. 

4-5:15pm (PAC 1313)
guest lecture, Music Analysis class

Students present findings on Stick Figure and more. David discusses, takes questions.

8-10pm (PAC, SVS recital hall)
So Very Serious Film Screening #1Untitled, the movie, with guest composer David Lang

The inaugural So Very Serious Film Screening (or SVSFS). We show the almost-classic movie Untitled. David Lang's music is used throughout the film, and he will be present to say a few words on something. You may even get to sit next to him. Starring Adam Goldberg and Marley Shelton, this comic tale about the state of contemporary art follows a Chelsea art gallerist falling for a brooding new music composer. With special pre-film live music.

And if you don't have enough reasons to attend, there will also be a super fantastic one-of-a kind door prize for an extremely lucky audience member.


Tuesday November 13

2-3pm (PAC 1501)
percussion masterclass 

David coaches students performing Anvil Chorus and Lend/Lease. Discusses his work with percussion.

3-4pm (PAC 1313) 
composition masterclass

Students present their compositions. Discussion

4-5:15pm (HON 218)
guest lecture, Music, Culture, and Aesthetics

7-8:30pm (PAC 1600, Dance Studio)
New Music Ensemble concert

New Music Ensemble performs the music of David Lang (Anvil ChorusLend/Lease,Revolutionary Etude #2WedSimple MixStick FigureLittle EyeCheating, Lying, Stealing). Post-concert audience dialogue with David Lang, moderated by Professor John Schuster-Craig

 
 

 

Conductors:  Bill Ryan 

Thursday, November 15, 2012

Symphony Space
Leonard Nimoy Theatre
New York, New York
work being performed: acdc
Ensembles:  Da Capo Chamber Players 

Friday, November 16, 2012

Bucknell University
Weis Center fo the Performing Arts
Lewisberg, Pennsylvania
work being performed: world to come
Soloists:  Maya Beiser 

Saturday, November 17, 2012 - Sunday, November 18, 2012

Harwood Museum of Art
Arthur Bell Auditorium
Taos, New Mexico
work being performed: sweet air
Ensembles:  Taos Chamber Music Group 

Sunday, November 18, 2012

Wednesday, November 28, 2012

Kennedy Center: Fortas Chamber Music Concert
Terrace Theatre
2700 F Street, NW, Washington, District Of Columbia   map
work being performed: love fail
Ensembles:  Anonymous 4 

Saturday, December 1, 2012

Jacaranda
First Presbyterian Church
1220 Second Street, Santa Monica, California   map
work being performed: the little match girl passion

four excerpts of 'little match girl passion' will be presented.

Ensembles:  Jacaranda 
University of California Los Angeles
Royce Hall
340 Royce Drive, Los Angeles, California   map
work being performed: love fail
Ensembles:  Anonymous 4 

Sunday, December 2, 2012 - Tuesday, December 4, 2012

Thursday, December 6, 2012 - Saturday, December 8, 2012

* NYC premiere
Brooklyn Academy of Music
Harvey Theater
30 Lafayette Avenue, Brooklyn, New York   map
work being performed: love fail
Ensembles:  Anonymous 4 

Friday, December 7, 2012

Nouveau Classical Project
Gallery Korea
New York, New York
work being performed: sweet air
Ensembles:  Sweet Lost Pierrot 

Sunday, December 9, 2012

Tuesday, December 11, 2012

Wednesday, December 12, 2012

Thursday, December 13, 2012 - Saturday, December 15, 2012

Friday, December 14, 2012 - Friday, December 21, 2012

Saturday, December 15, 2012

Sonic Generator
Atlanta, Georgia
work being performed: wed
Soloists:  Tim Whitehead 

Sunday, December 23, 2012

Metropolitan Museum of Art
1000 5th Avenue, New York, New York   map
work being performed: the little match girl passion
Ensembles:  The Crossing 
Conductors:  Donald Nally 

Thursday, December 27, 2012

* Russia premiere
The North-Western Branch of the NCCA, PRO ARTE Foundation, and The U.S. Consulate General in St Petersburg
Glinka Hall of the St Petersburg Philharmonia
Saint Petersburg, Russia
work being performed: the little match girl passion
Conductors:  Fedor Lednev