Events Archive - 2011

Friday, October 22, 2010 - Sunday, March 27, 2011

Sunday, November 7, 2010 - Sunday, April 17, 2011

Sunday, January 2, 2011

Philadelphia , Pennsylvania
* World premiere
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
work being performed: i live in pain
Ensembles:  The Crossing 

Saturday, January 15, 2011

Wilmington, Delaware
The Concert Gild
Gild Hall
2126 The Highway, Wilmington, Delaware   map
Ensembles:  Ethel 

Friday, January 21, 2011 - Sunday, March 20, 2011

Walnut Creek, California
Walnut Creek, California

Thursday, January 27, 2011

Hazard, Kentucky
Hazard Community and Technical College
First Federal Center
1 Community College Drive, Hazard, Kentucky   map
Ensembles:  Ethel 

Thursday, February 3, 2011

Miller Theatre, New York
* NYC premiere
Miller Theatre, New York
work being performed: Fuel
Conductors:  Brad Lubman 
Miller Theatre, New York
* NYC premiere
Miller Theatre, New York
work being performed: Cruel Sister
Conductors:  Brad Lubman 
Denver, Colorado
Kenneth King Academic and Performing Arts Center
King Center Concert Hall
855 Lawrence Way, Denver, Colorado   map
Ensembles:  Ethel 

Friday, February 4, 2011

Loveland, Colorado
Rialto Theater
Rialto Theater
228 East 4th Street, Loveland, Colorado   map
Ensembles:  Ethel 
New Haven, Connecticut
New Haven, Connecticut
work being performed: pierced
Conductors:  Shinik Hahm 

Saturday, February 5, 2011

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Walker Arts Center
McGuire Theater
Minneapolis, Minnesota
work being performed: Clouded Yellow
Ensembles:  Kronos Quartet 

Wednesday, February 9, 2011

Evanston, Illinois
Evanston, Illinois
work being performed: are you experienced?
Conductors:  Dan Farris 

Friday, February 11, 2011

Ann Arbor, Michigan
Ann Arbor, Michigan
work being performed: Cruel Sister
Conductors:  Christopher Lees 

Thursday, February 17, 2011

Portland, Oregon
Portland, Oregon
work being performed: cheating, lying, stealing
Ensembles:  Third Angle Ensemble 

Saturday, February 19, 2011 - Saturday, February 26, 2011

New York , New York
New York, New York

Thursday, March 3, 2011 - Friday, April 8, 2011

Friday, March 4, 2011 - Sunday, March 6, 2011

San Francisco, California
San Francisco, California
work being performed: battle hymns
Ensembles:  Volti 

Saturday, March 5, 2011 - Monday, March 21, 2011

Hinsdale, Illinois
Hinsdale, Illinois
work being performed: the little match girl passion
Conductors:  Lee Kesselman 

Sunday, March 6, 2011

Blue Bell, Pennsylvania
Montgomery County Community College
Science Center Theater
340 DeKalb Pike, Blue Bell, Pennsylvania   map
Ensembles:  Ethel 

Tuesday, March 8, 2011

New York City, New York
* World premiere
New York City, New York
work being performed: involuntary
* World premiere
DiMenna Center for Classical Music
work being performed: involuntary

Thursday, March 10, 2011

Friday, March 11, 2011

Herkimer, New York
Herkimer County College
Sarkus-Busch Theater
100 Reservoir Road, Herkimer, New York   map
Ensembles:  Ethel 

Thursday, March 17, 2011

Sage Gateshead, United Kingdom
Sage Gateshead, United Kingdom
work being performed: the little match girl passion
Conductors:  Simon Halsey 

Monday, March 21, 2011

Greenville, South Carolina
The Peace Center
Gunter Theatre
Greenville, South Carolina
work being performed: Clouded Yellow
Ensembles:  Kronos Quartet 

Wednesday, March 30, 2011

Netherlands
* World premiere
Netherlands
work being performed: Combat de Boxe
Ensembles:  Asko Schoenberg Ensemble 

Friday, April 1, 2011

Hartford, Connecticut
* World premiere
Hartt School of Music
Hartford, Connecticut
work being performed: bristle
Soloists:  Robert Black 

Saturday, April 2, 2011

Miami Beach, Florida
Miami Beach, Florida
work being performed: Arsenal of Democracy
Conductors:  John Adams 

Sunday, April 3, 2011

Tucson, Arizona
UApresents
UA Centennial Hall
Tucson, Arizona
work being performed: Clouded Yellow
Ensembles:  Kronos Quartet 

Thursday, April 7, 2011

New York, New York
New York, New York
work being performed: The Carbon Copy Building
Conductors:  Ted Hearne 

Saturday, April 9, 2011

Thursday, April 14, 2011 - Friday, April 15, 2011

Denmark
Denmark
work being performed: street

Thursday, April 14, 2011 - Sunday, April 17, 2011

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
work being performed: pierced
Malden, Massachusetts
Malden, Massachusetts
work being performed: Acid Rain

Thursday, April 14, 2011 - Saturday, April 16, 2011

Thursday, April 14, 2011

Saturday, April 16, 2011 - Sunday, April 17, 2011

Sunday, April 17, 2011

Santa Ana, California
Santa Ana, California
work being performed: the little match girl passion
Conductors:  John Alexander 

Monday, April 18, 2011

Greenville, North Carolina
Greenville, North Carolina
work being performed: the little match girl passion
Conductors:  Alfred Sturgis 

Friday, April 22, 2011 - Sunday, May 1, 2011

Friday, April 22, 2011

Wednesday, April 27, 2011 - Tuesday, June 7, 2011

Wednesday, April 27, 2011

Paramus, New Jersey
Bergen Community College
Ciccone Theater
400 Paramus Rd, Paramus, New Jersey   map
Ensembles:  Ethel 

Thursday, April 28, 2011 - Saturday, April 30, 2011

Charlotte, North Carolina
Charlotte, North Carolina
work being performed: Weather One

Friday, April 29, 2011 - Saturday, April 30, 2011

Saratoga Springs, New York
Saratoga Springs, New York
work being performed: Dark Full Ride

Friday, April 29, 2011

Seattle, Washington
Simple Measures
Mt. Baker Community Club
2811 Mount Rainier Drive South, Seattle, Washington   map
Ensembles:  Ethel 

Saturday, April 30, 2011

Seattle, Washington
Simple Measures
Fremont Abbey Arts Center
4272 Fremont Avenue North, Seattle, Washington   map
Ensembles:  Ethel 
Stillwater, Oklahoma
Stillwater, Oklahoma
work being performed: cheating, lying, stealing
Conductors:  Michael Kirkendoll 

Friday, May 6, 2011

New York, New York
New York, New York
work being performed: Girlfriend
Conductors:  Jonathan Haas 

Saturday, May 7, 2011

London, United Kingdom
Barbican
LSO St. Luke's
London, United Kingdom
work being performed: Clouded Yellow
Ensembles:  Kronos Quartet 
London, United Kingdom
* United Kingdom premiere
London, United Kingdom
Conductors:  André de Ridder 

Sunday, May 8, 2011

United Kingdom
United Kingdom
work being performed: Cruel Sister
Ensembles:  Britten Sinfonia 

Tuesday, May 17, 2011

Norwich, United Kingdom
Norfolk & Norwich Festival
Theatre Royal
Norwich, United Kingdom
work being performed: Clouded Yellow
Ensembles:  Kronos Quartet 

Wednesday, May 18, 2011 - Saturday, May 21, 2011

New York, New York
New York, New York
work being performed: Idle

Wednesday, May 18, 2011

Columbus, Ohio
Columbus, Ohio
work being performed: cheating, lying, stealing
Conductors:  Thomas Wells 

Friday, June 3, 2011

Friday, June 3, 2011 - Saturday, June 4, 2011

Sunday, June 12, 2011

Toronto, Canada
Luminato Festival
Festival Main Stage, Metro Hall Square
Toronto, Canada
work being performed: Clouded Yellow
Ensembles:  Kronos Quartet 

Wednesday, June 15, 2011 - Saturday, June 18, 2011

Long Beach, California
Long Beach, California
Ensembles:  Long Beach Opera 

Thursday, June 16, 2011

Den Haag, Netherlands
* World premiere
Korzo Theatre
Den Haag, Netherlands
work being performed: Timber
Ensembles:  Slagwerk Den Haag 

Sunday, June 19, 2011

Brooklyn, New York
Brooklyn, New York
work being performed: Cruel Sister

Friday, July 8, 2011

Netherlands
Netherlands
work being performed: loud love songs
Ensembles:  Limburgs Symfonie Orkest 
Conductors:  Otto Tausk 

Saturday, July 9, 2011

Saratoga Springs, New York
Saratoga Springs, New York
work being performed: plainspoken
Spokane, Washington
Spokane, Washington
work being performed: cheating, lying, stealing
Ensembles:  Spokane Symphony Society 

Friday, July 15, 2011

New Canaan, Connecticut
Silvermine Arts Center
Silvermine Arts Center
1037 Silvermine Road, New Canaan, Connecticut   map
Ensembles:  Ethel 

Saturday, July 16, 2011

Woodstock, New York
Maverick Concerts
Maverick Concert Hall
P.O. Box 9, Woodstock, New York   map
Ensembles:  Ethel 

Saturday, July 23, 2011

Brooklyn, New York
Brooklyn, New York
work being performed: Tell me everything
Brooklyn, New York
Brooklyn, New York
work being performed: increase

Saturday, July 30, 2011

Londonderry, United Kingdom
Walled City Music Festival
Great Hall, University of Ulster at Magee
Londonderry, United Kingdom
work being performed: Clouded Yellow
Ensembles:  Kronos Quartet 

Thursday, August 18, 2011

Kennett Square, Pennsylvania
Longwood Gardens
Longwood Gardens
Kennett Square, Pennsylvania
Ensembles:  Ethel 

Wednesday, September 7, 2011

Krakow, Poland
Krakow, Poland
work being performed: pierced
Ensembles:  London Sinfonietta 

Wednesday, September 7, 2011 - Tuesday, September 13, 2011

United Kingdom
United Kingdom
work being performed: increase
Ensembles:  London Sinfonietta 
United Kingdom
United Kingdom
work being performed: forced march
Ensembles:  London Sinfonietta 

Sunday, September 11, 2011

Indianapolis, Indiana
Indianapolis, Indiana
work being performed: the anvil chorus
Soloists:  Steven Schick 

Saturday, October 1, 2011

Saturday, October 15, 2011

Tuesday, October 18, 2011

Melbourne, Australia
Melbourne Festival
Melbourne Recital Centre
Melbourne, Australia
work being performed: Clouded Yellow
Ensembles:  Kronos Quartet 

Tuesday, October 25, 2011

La Jolla, California
UCSD
The Loft
Price Center East, 4th Floor, 9500 Gilman Drive MC 0077, La Jolla, California   map
Ensembles:  Ethel 

Tuesday, November 1, 2011

North Bethesda, Maryland
Ives Project: Ives and Other Innovators (Celebrating American Composers)
North Bethesda, Maryland
work being performed: Dig Deep
Ensembles:  JACK Quartet 

Wednesday, November 2, 2011

Montreal, Canada
Les Ballets Jazz de Montreal
Montreal, Canada
work being performed: Cruel Sister

Saturday, November 5, 2011

New York, New York
Carnegie Hall
Zankel Hall
881 Seventh Avenue, New York, New York   map
work being performed: sunray
Ensembles:  Bang on a Can All-Stars 
New York, New York
Carnegie Hall
Zankel Hall
881 Seventh Avenue, New York, New York   map
work being performed: for Madeline
Ensembles:  Bang on a Can All-Stars 

Wednesday, November 9, 2011

Indianapolis, Indiana
Indianapolis, Indiana
work being performed: Timber
Ensembles:  Mantra Percussion 
Syracuse, New York
Syracuse University- College of Visual and Performing Arts
Setnor Auditorium
Syracuse, New York
work being performed: Clouded Yellow
Ensembles:  Kronos Quartet 
indianapolis, Indiana
indianapolis, Indiana
work being performed: Dark Full Ride
Ensembles:  So Percussion 
Indianapolis, Indiana
Indianapolis, Indiana
work being performed: the so-called laws of nature
Ensembles:  So Percussion 
indianapolis, Indiana
indianapolis, Indiana
work being performed: XY
Soloists:  Douglas Perkins 

Thursday, November 10, 2011

New York, New York
New York, New York
work being performed: sweet air
Ensembles:  20-21 
NY, New York
20-21
Gershwin Hotel
NY, New York
works being performed: sweet air, East Broadway
Ensembles:  20-21 
Soloists:  Angelica Negron 

Friday, November 11, 2011

La Jolla, California
La Jolla Symphony
La Jolla, California
work being performed: grind to a halt
Ensembles:  La Jolla Symphony 
Conductors:  Steven Schick 
LA, California
* World premiere
UCLA
LA, California
work being performed: stuttered chant
Soloists:  Evelyn Glennie   Maya Beiser 
Slovakia
Slovakia
work being performed: pierced
Conductors:  Szymon Bywalec 

Saturday, November 12, 2011

Boston, Massachusetts
MIT
Boston, Massachusetts
work being performed: Steel Hammer
Boston, Massachusetts
MIT
Boston, Massachusetts
work being performed: Timber
Ensembles:  Mantra Percussion 

Sunday, November 13, 2011

Los Angeles, California
Los Angeles, California
work being performed: the little match girl passion
Conductors:  Grant Gershon 

Monday, November 14, 2011

Bowling Green, Ohio
* United States premiere
Bowling Green State University
Kobacker Hall
Bowling Green, Ohio
work being performed: Timber
Ensembles:  Mantra Percussion 

Thursday, November 17, 2011

New York, New York
New York, New York
work being performed: sweet air

Thursday, November 17, 2011 - Saturday, November 19, 2011

Minneapolis, Michigan
Walker Art Center
Minneapolis, Michigan
work being performed: men

Saturday, November 19, 2011

Lawrence, Kansas
University of Kansas
Lied Center
1600 Stewart Drive, Lawrence, Kansas   map
Ensembles:  Ethel 

Saturday, November 26, 2011 - Sunday, November 27, 2011

Milan, Italy
Solisti del Teatro
Milan, Italy
work being performed: pierced
Ensembles:  Solisti del Teatro 
Netherlands
Netherlands
work being performed: Cruel Sister
Ensembles:  Strijkorkest Zoroaster 
Conductors:  Herman Draaisma 

Tuesday, November 29, 2011

New Haven, Connecticut
Yale School of Music
Morse Recital Hall
470 College St., New Haven, Connecticut   map
work being performed: little eye
* World premiere
Casa da Musica
Ensembles:  Coro Casa da Musica 
Conductors:  Paul Hillier 
Portugal
Casa da Musica in Porto
Casa da Musica in Porto
Portugal
work being performed: Water
Ensembles:  Theater of Voices 
Portugal
* Portugal premiere
Portugal
work being performed: Thirst
Ensembles:  Remix Ensemble 
Conductors:  Paul Hillier 
Portugal
* World premiere
Casa da Musica in Porto
Casa da Musica in Porto
Portugal
Conductors:  Paul Hillier 

Tuesday, November 29, 2011 - Saturday, December 3, 2011

Brooklyn, New York
BAM Harvey Theater
BAM Harvey Theater
Brooklyn, New York
work being performed: men
Ensembles:  Big Dance Theater 

Wednesday, November 30, 2011

Oakland, California
Oakland, California
work being performed: Girlfriend
Ensembles:  Mills College 
Conductors:  Steed Cowart 

Thursday, December 1, 2011

Borusan Music House
Borusan Music House in Istanbul
work being performed: the so-called laws of nature

Friday, December 2, 2011

Santa Rosa, California
Redwood Arts Council
The Glaser Center
Santa Rosa, California
work being performed: Clouded Yellow
Ensembles:  Kronos Quartet 

Saturday, December 3, 2011

Immanuel Lutheran Church
Immanuel Lutheran Church
work being performed: the little match girl passion
Ensembles:  New Amsterdam Singers 

Monday, December 12, 2011

Chicago, Illinois
Chicago, Illinois
work being performed: Dig Deep