Events Archive - 2012

Sunday, January 1, 2012 - Wednesday, December 31, 2014

Thursday, January 5, 2012

Massachusetts
Williams College
Massachusetts
work being performed: little eye
Ensembles:  I/O Ensemble 

Thursday, January 12, 2012

Novi Sand, Serbia
Cultural Center of Novi Sad
Serbian National Theater
Novi Sand, Serbia
work being performed: Clouded Yellow
Ensembles:  Kronos Quartet 

Friday, January 13, 2012

United Kingdom
Northern Sinfonia
United Kingdom
work being performed: statement to the court
Ensembles:  Northern Sinfonia 
Soloists:  Rebecca Bottone 
Conductors:  Nicholas Collon 

Sunday, January 15, 2012

Gdansk, Poland
Klub Zak
Polish Baltic F. Chopin Philharmonic
Gdansk, Poland
work being performed: Clouded Yellow
Ensembles:  Kronos Quartet 
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Oklahoma City University
Petree Recital Hall
2501 N Blackwelder, Oklahoma City, Oklahoma   map
Ensembles:  Ethel 

Thursday, January 19, 2012

Clermont-Ferrand, France
La Comédie de Clermont-Ferrand
Salle Jean-Cocteau
Clermont-Ferrand, France
work being performed: Clouded Yellow
Ensembles:  Kronos Quartet 

Saturday, January 21, 2012

Oberlin, Ohio
* World premiere
Oberlin, Ohio
work being performed: my international
Conductors:  Steve Schick 

Wednesday, January 25, 2012

Stanford, California
* World premiere
Stanford, California
work being performed: death speaks
Ensembles:  Theater of Voices 
Conductors:  Paul Hillier 

Thursday, January 26, 2012

Gershwin Hotel
Gershwin Hotel
work being performed: Industry
Ensembles:  Contagious Sounds Series 
Soloists:  Ashley Bathgate 
Gershwin Hotel
Gershwin Hotel
work being performed: Industry
Ensembles:  Contagious Sounds Series 
Soloists:  Ashley Bathgate 

Friday, January 27, 2012

Carnegie Hall
Carnegie Hall
work being performed: the little match girl passion
Ensembles:  Theatre of Voices 
Conductors:  Paul Hillier 
* NYC premiere
Carnegie Hall
Carnegie Hall
work being performed: death speaks
Ensembles:  Theatre of Voices 
Conductors:  Paul Hillier 

Saturday, January 28, 2012

* World premiere
work being performed: Cold
Ensembles:  Ensemble Modern 
Germany
* World premiere
Germany
work being performed: Cold
Ensembles:  Ensemble Modern 

Sunday, January 29, 2012

Thursday, February 2, 2012 - Sunday, February 12, 2012

Thursday, February 2, 2012

Evanston, Illinois
Evanston, Illinois
work being performed: cheating, lying, stealing
Ensembles:  Northwestern University 
Conductors:  Dan Farris 
Potsdam, New York
SUNY Potsdam Crane School of Music
Hosmer Hall
Potsdam, New York
Ensembles:  Ethel 

Friday, February 3, 2012

WFC Winter Garden
work being performed: Decasia
Ensembles:  Oberlin CME 
Conductors:  Tim Weiss 

Sunday, February 5, 2012

Berkeley, California
Cal Performances
Herts Hall
Berkeley, California
work being performed: Clouded Yellow
Ensembles:  Kronos Quartet 

Wednesday, February 8, 2012 - Saturday, February 11, 2012

New York, New York
New York, New York
work being performed: Idle
Ensembles:  Inc.   Take Dance Company 

Friday, February 10, 2012

new York, New York
Riverside Church
new York, New York
work being performed: Compassion
Ensembles:  Locrian Chamber Players 
Montgomery, Alabama
ClefWorks
Capri Theater
1045 E Fairview Ave, Montgomery, Alabama   map
Ensembles:  Ethel 

Tuesday, February 14, 2012

Thursday, February 16, 2012

Le Poisson Rouge
Le Poisson Rouge
work being performed: Exalted
Ensembles:  Young People's Chorus 
Conductors:  Francisco Nunez 

Friday, February 17, 2012

Brooklyn, New York
* World premiere
Bargemusic
Brooklyn, New York
work being performed: gravity
Bargemusic, New York
Bargemusic, New York
work being performed: gravity

Saturday, February 18, 2012

New York
Zankel Hall
New York
work being performed: Exalted
Conductors:  Francisco Nunez 

Sunday, February 19, 2012

Thousand Oaks, California
10th Annual New Music Concert
CA Lutehran University
Thousand Oaks, California
work being performed: i lie
Thousand Oaks, California
10th Annual New Music Concert
CA Lutehran University
Thousand Oaks, California
work being performed: again (after ecclesiastes)
thousand Oaks, California
10th Annual New Music Concert
CA Lutehran University
thousand Oaks, California
thousand Oaks, California
CA Lutehran University
thousand Oaks, California
work being performed: i live in pain

Friday, February 24, 2012

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Minneapolis, Minnesota
work being performed: sweet air
Ensembles:  Zenon Dance Company 

Saturday, February 25, 2012

United Kingdom
United Kingdom
work being performed: Gotham
Ensembles:  Aurora Orchestra 

Friday, March 2, 2012 - Saturday, March 3, 2012

Waco,, Texas
Baylor University School of Music
Waco,, Texas
work being performed: the so-called laws of nature
Ensembles:  So Percussion 

Friday, March 2, 2012

Waco, Texas
Baylor University School of Music
Waco, Texas
work being performed: the anvil chorus

Sunday, March 4, 2012

Monday, March 5, 2012

boston, Massachusetts
boston, Massachusetts
work being performed: Early that summer
Ensembles:  Ethel 
Boston, Massachusetts
Boston, Massachusetts
work being performed: wed
Ensembles:  Ethel 

Thursday, March 8, 2012 - Sunday, March 11, 2012

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
work being performed: battle hymns
Ensembles:  Leah Stein Dance Company 

Friday, March 9, 2012

Monday, March 12, 2012

Seattle, Washington
Seattle Theatre Group
Neptune Theatre - Seattle Theatre Group
Seattle, Washington
work being performed: Clouded Yellow
Ensembles:  Kronos Quartet 

Friday, March 16, 2012

Brooklyn, New York
* World premiere
Issue Project Room
Brooklyn, New York
work being performed: Tree-oh
Soloists:  Todd Reynolds 

Sunday, March 18, 2012

Thousand Oaks, California
Ascension Lutheran Church, Thousand Oaks, CA
Thousand Oaks, California
work being performed: again (after ecclesiastes)

Tuesday, March 20, 2012

London, United Kingdom
London, United Kingdom
work being performed: Gene Takes a Drink
Ensembles:  Bang on a Can All-Stars 
London, United Kingdom
* World premiere
Bang on a Can All-Stars
London, United Kingdom
work being performed: Reeling
Ensembles:  Bang on a Can All-Stars 
London, United Kingdom
* World premiere
London, United Kingdom
work being performed: unused swan
Ensembles:  Bang on a Can All-Stars 
London, United Kingdom
* World premiere
London, United Kingdom
work being performed: Gene Takes a Drink
Ensembles:  Bang on a Can All-Stars 
Tucson, Arizona
University of Arizona
Tucson, Arizona
work being performed: cheating, lying, stealing
Ensembles:  University of Arizona 
Conductors:  Kevin Holzman 

Friday, March 23, 2012 - Sunday, March 25, 2012

San Francisco, California
San Francisco, California
work being performed: the little match girl passion
Conductors:  Dean Shibuya 
Austin, Texas
Ballet Austin
The Long Center
Austin, Texas
work being performed: Weather
Ensembles:  Ballet Austin 
Soloists:  choreographer   Stephen Mills 
Austin, Texas
Ballet Austin
Austin, Texas
work being performed: Weather
Ensembles:  Ballet Austin 

Friday, March 23, 2012 - Saturday, March 24, 2012

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Alternative Motion Project
Minneapolis, Minnesota
work being performed: cheating, lying, stealing

Friday, March 23, 2012

Seattle, Washington
Seattle Theatre Group
Neptune Theatre - Seattle Theatre Group
Seattle, Washington
work being performed: Clouded Yellow
Ensembles:  Kronos Quartet 

Saturday, March 24, 2012

Glasgow, United Kingdom
* World premiere
Theatre of Voices and Smith Quartet
Glasgow, United Kingdom
work being performed: ark luggage
Brooklyn, New York
Brooklyn, New York
work being performed: pierced
Ensembles:  Bang On A Can Festival 
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Theatre of Voices
Glasgow, United Kingdom
work being performed: the little match girl passion
Ensembles:  Theatre of Voices 
Glasgow, United Kingdom
* World premiere
Else Torp and Smith Quartet
Glasgow, United Kingdom
work being performed: ark luggage
Soloists:  Else Torp 
Rockille Centre, New York
Molloy College
Madison Theatre
Rockille Centre, New York
Ensembles:  Ethel 

Monday, March 26, 2012

Wednesday, March 28, 2012

Cincinnati, Ohio
* World premiere
Christ Church Cathedral
Christ Church Cathedral
Cincinnati, Ohio
work being performed: ordinary
Soloists:  James McVinnie   organ 

Thursday, March 29, 2012 - Sunday, May 13, 2012

Saturday, March 31, 2012

Pheonix, Arizona
Shepherd of the Valley Lutheran Church
Pheonix, Arizona
work being performed: again (after ecclesiastes)

Sunday, April 1, 2012

San Diego, California
Sacra/Profana
San Diego, California
work being performed: the little match girl passion
Ensembles:  Sacra/Profana 
Conductors:  Krishan Oberoi 
Los Angeles , California
Colburn School
Los Angeles, California
work being performed: cheating, lying, stealing
Ensembles:  Colburn School 
San Diego, California
San Diego, California
work being performed: the little match girl passion
Ensembles:  Sacra/Profana 
Conductors:  Krishan Oberoi 
LA, California
LA, California
work being performed: cheating, lying, stealing
Ensembles:  Colburn School 
Paradise Valley, Arizona
Ascension Lutheran Church
Paradise Valley, Arizona
work being performed: again (after ecclesiastes)

Monday, April 2, 2012 - Sunday, April 22, 2012

Taipei, Taiwan
Taipei, Taiwan
work being performed: Weather One
Ensembles:  Cloud Gate 2 

Monday, April 2, 2012

Oro Valley, Arizona
California Lutheran University Choir
Resurrection Lutheran Church
Oro Valley, Arizona
work being performed: again (after ecclesiastes)

Friday, April 6, 2012

Austin, Texas
Fast Forward Austin
Sottish Rite Theater
207 West 18th Street, Austin, Texas   map
work being performed: the so-called laws of nature
Conductors:  Todd Meehan 

Tuesday, April 10, 2012

Kansas City, Missouri
UMKC Conservatory of Music
Kansas City, Missouri
work being performed: the little match girl passion
Conductors:  Robert Bode 

Thursday, April 12, 2012

New Haven, Connecticut
New Haven Symphony
New Haven, Connecticut
work being performed: loud love songs
Ensembles:  New Haven Symphony 
Soloists:  Svet Stoyanov 
Conductors:  William Boughton 

Friday, April 13, 2012

LA, California
What's Next? Ensemble
LA, California
work being performed: Van Gogh
Ensembles:  What's Next? Ensemble 
Conductors:  Vimbayi Kaziboni 

Monday, April 16, 2012

New Orleans, Louisiana
Tulane University
Tulane University
New Orleans, Louisiana
work being performed: Light Is Calling
Ensembles:  Tulane University 

Tuesday, April 17, 2012

Boston, Massachusetts
New England Conservatory
New England Conservatory
Boston, Massachusetts
work being performed: cheating, lying, stealing
Ensembles:  New England Conservatory 

Wednesday, April 18, 2012 - Sunday, April 22, 2012

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
BalletX
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
work being performed: amjad
Ensembles:  BalletX 

Friday, April 20, 2012

Residentie Orkest/Netherlands premiere
work being performed: Fuel
Brooklyn, New York
Le Train Bleu
Brooklyn, New York
work being performed: Yo Shakespeare
Ensembles:  Le Train Bleu 

Saturday, April 21, 2012 - Sunday, April 22, 2012

Minneapolis, Mississippi
Minneapolis, Mississippi
work being performed: the little match girl passion
Ensembles:  The Singers 
Conductors:  Matthew Culloton 

Thursday, April 26, 2012

le poisson rouge
le poisson rouge
work being performed: Light Is Calling
Ensembles:  neoLIT 
le poisson rouge
le poisson rouge
work being performed: Light Is Calling
Ensembles:  neoLIT 
Batesville, Arkansas
Lyon College
Bevens Music Room
Batesville, Arkansas
Ensembles:  Ethel 

Friday, April 27, 2012

Melbourne, Australia
* Australia premiere
Melbourne Symphony
Elisabeth Murdoch Hall
Melbourne, Australia
work being performed: Dystopia
Ensembles:  Melbourne Symphony 
Conductors:  Timothy Weiss 

Saturday, April 28, 2012

New York
* United States premiere
Gene Takes a Drink
Alice Tully Hall
New York
work being performed: Gene Takes a Drink
Ensembles:  Gene Takes a Drink 
NY
* United States premiere
Alice Tully Hall
NY
work being performed: Reeling
Ensembles:  Bang on a Can All-Stars 
Field Recordings for 25th Anniversary
Alice Tully Hall
work being performed: unused swan
Ensembles:  Bang on a Can All-Stars 
* World premiere
Field Recordings for 25th Anniversary
work being performed: Gene Takes a Drink
Ensembles:  Bang on a Can All-Stars 
NY
Alice Tully Hall
NY
work being performed: unused swan
Ensembles:  Bang on a Can All-Stars 

Sunday, April 29, 2012

Santa Ana, California
Santa Ana, California
work being performed: the little match girl passion
Ensembles:  Pacific Chorale 

Tuesday, May 1, 2012

Melbourne, Australia
Metropolis Festival
Melbourne Recital Centre
Melbourne, Australia
work being performed: sweet air
Ensembles:  Syzygy Ensemble 

Wednesday, May 2, 2012 - Saturday, May 12, 2012

Thursday, May 3, 2012

Sunday, May 6, 2012

NY
le poisson rouge
NY
work being performed: wed

Monday, May 14, 2012

Tuesday, May 15, 2012 - Saturday, May 19, 2012

United Kingdom
United Kingdom
work being performed: Weather One
Ensembles:  Ballet Rambert 
London, United Kingdom
Sadler's Wells Theater
London, United Kingdom
work being performed: Weather
Ensembles:  Rambert Dance Company 

Tuesday, May 29, 2012

Seattle, Washington
University of Washington
University of Washington
Seattle, Washington
work being performed: Exalted
Ensembles:  University of Washington 
Conductors:  Jeremiah Cawley 

Thursday, June 7, 2012

Riga, Latvia
Sinfonietta Riga
Railway History Museum of Latvia
Riga, Latvia
work being performed: Love Bead
Ensembles:  Sinfonietta Riga 
Conductors:  N. Sne 

Saturday, June 9, 2012

Buffalo, New York
June in Buffalo
Buffalo, New York
work being performed: Impatience
Ensembles:  Signal 
Conductors:  Brad Lubman 

Sunday, June 10, 2012

New York, New York
Noguchi Museum
New York, New York
works being performed: I feel pretty, bristle
Soloists:  Robert Black 
New York, New York
Noguchi Museum
New York, New York
work being performed: Paint It Black
Soloists:  Robert Black 
New York, New York
Noguchi Museum
New York, New York
work being performed: Stronghold
Soloists:  Robert Black 

Friday, June 15, 2012

Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
work being performed: acdc
Ensembles:  Present Music 

Saturday, June 16, 2012

St. Louis, Missouri
Pulitzer New Music Festival
St. Louis, Missouri
work being performed: the so-called laws of nature
Ensembles:  So Percussion 

Sunday, June 17, 2012

New York, New York
Winter Garden
New York, New York
work being performed: sunray
Ensembles:  Bang on a Can All-Stars 
New York, New York
Bang on a Can
Winter Garden
New York, New York
work being performed: my lips from speaking
Ensembles:  Grand Band 

Monday, June 18, 2012

Villanova, Pennsylvania
Villanova, Pennsylvania
work being performed: again (after ecclesiastes)

Wednesday, June 27, 2012 - Sunday, July 1, 2012

Becket, Massachusetts
* World premiere
Morphoses
Jacob's Pillow
Becket, Massachusetts

Friday, June 29, 2012

Seattle, Washington
Seattle, Washington
work being performed: Four Kings Fight Five
Ensembles:  The Box Is Empty 
Conductors:  Jeremiah Crawley 

Friday, June 29, 2012 - Saturday, June 30, 2012

New Haven, Connecticut
* World premiere
International Festival of Arts and Ideas
Yale Repertory Theatre
New Haven, Connecticut
work being performed: love fail
Ensembles:  Anonymous 4 

Monday, July 9, 2012

Chautauqua, New York
The Chautauqua Institution
Elizabeth S. Lenna Hall
Chautauqua, New York
Ensembles:  Ethel 

Saturday, July 14, 2012

New York, New York
River to River Festival
World Financial Center Plaza
200 Vesey Street, New York, New York   map
work being performed: darker
Ensembles:  A Far Cry 

Friday, July 20, 2012 - Saturday, July 21, 2012

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Pittsburgh New Music Ensemble
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
work being performed: the anvil chorus
Soloists:  David Skidmore 

Saturday, July 21, 2012

North Adams, Massachusetts
Bang on a Can
Mass Moca
1040 MASS MoCA WAY, North Adams, Massachusetts   map
work being performed: Four Kings Fight Five
Ensembles:  Bang On A Can Festival 

Saturday, July 28, 2012

Kaufman Center
work being performed: Yo Shakespeare
Ensembles:  Face The Music 
Conductors:  Jenny Undercofler 

Saturday, August 4, 2012

Tuesday, August 7, 2012

New York, New York
(le) Poisson Rouge
New York, New York
work being performed: my lips from speaking
Ensembles:  Grand Band 

Friday, August 10, 2012

Peterborough, New Hampshire
Monadnock Music Festival
Peterborough All Saints’ Church
2A Concord Street, Peterborough, New Hampshire   map
work being performed: i lie
Ensembles:  Lorelei Ensemble 

Tuesday, August 14, 2012

New York, New York
Kaufman Center
New York, New York
work being performed: Lick
Ensembles:  Face The Music 

Thursday, August 30, 2012

Birmingham, Alabama
University of Alabama Birmingham
Alys Stephens Center, Sirote Theatre
1200 10th Ave. South., Birmingham, Alabama   map
work being performed: the so-called laws of nature
Ensembles:  Iron Giant 

Friday, August 31, 2012

Bern, Switzerland
* World premiere
Dampfzentrale Bern
Bern, Switzerland
Ensembles:  Klavierduo Huber/Thomet 

Saturday, September 1, 2012

toronto, Canada
Contact Contemporary Festival
Yonge-Dundas Square
toronto, Canada
works being performed: sunray, Believing
Ensembles:  Bang on a Can All-Stars 

Tuesday, September 4, 2012

Cagliari, Italy
Parco Molentargius Saline
Sala conferenze del Parco Molentargius Saline
Cagliari, Italy
work being performed: the so-called laws of nature
Ensembles:  Modular Quartet 

Thursday, September 13, 2012

New York, New York
Trinity Wall Street
74 Trinity Place, New York, New York   map
work being performed: these broken wings
Ensembles:  Novus New York 

Saturday, September 15, 2012

Alexandria, Virginia
Alexandria, Virginia
work being performed: child
Ensembles:  Great Noise Ensemble 
Berlin, Germany
* Germany premiere
Berliner Festspiele
Kühlhaus Berlin
Luckenwalder Straße 3, 10963, Berlin, Germany   map
Ensembles:  Rundfunkchor Berlin 
Troy, New York
* World premiere
EMPAC: Experimental Music and Performing Arts Center
EMPAC
110 8th Street, Troy, New York   map
work being performed: Rushes
Ensembles:  Rushes Ensemble 

Sunday, September 16, 2012

Wednesday, September 19, 2012 - Saturday, May 11, 2013

various, Canada
Canada Tour
various, Canada
work being performed: Fuel

Saturday, September 22, 2012

Carlsbad, California
Carlsbad New Music Festival
Carlsbad, California
work being performed: i lie
Ensembles:  Sacra/Profana 

Sunday, September 23, 2012

Boone, North Carolina
Hayes School of Music
Boone, North Carolina
work being performed: press release
Soloists:  Jon Beebe 

Thursday, September 27, 2012

Friday, September 28, 2012

New York, New York
Spectrum
121 Ludlow Street, New York, New York   map
work being performed: cello